top of page

South Street St Andrews

South Street is where you will find St Mary's Quad

and the Gregory meridian. The oldest part of the University

and the town gate (west port). Madras College Blackfriars Chapel ruins, the Town Hall and many other historic sites.

The West Port

South Street St Andrews 

The West Port was built circa 1580 and is the only gate in its original position left in Scotland. It does not seem to be part of a town wall that would have been closed in case of invasion by the English, The gate was extensively refurbished in 1843.  Above the centre of the arch is the St Andrews Coat of Arms 

St Andrews West Port Looking into the Old Town
St Andrews West Port Looking out of the Old Town

Gavin Douglas 1474 - 1522
City Road St Andrews

Through West Gate on corner of street opposite

 

Gavin Douglas was born in

Tantallon Castle East Lothian in 1476.

He was 3rd son of Archibald "Bell the Cat"

Douglas 5th Earl of Angus 

his house stood near this spot.

A student of St Andrews University, he was a poet noted for his "Palice of Honour"  and for his "Eneados" a translation of Virgil's "Aeneid" into Scots.

He was Dean of St Giles Edinburgh in 1501,

the Bishop of Dunkeld in 1515.

Died 1522 London of the Plague.

His Coat of Arms

no longer visible on the plaque.

Gavin Douglas Plaque St Andrews, Famous People

Madras College 

South Street St Andrews

Madras College first opened in 1833 and takes its name from founder the Rev. Dr Andrew Bell and the educational system he devised. 

see his plaque beside Blackfriars Chapel.

Madras College St Andrews

Blackfriars Chapel
South Street St Andrews

Blackfriars Chapel St Andrews
Blackfriars Chapel St Andrews

Blackfriars Chapel was built in 1525 and damaged by fire in 1547 and destroyed in 1559 by a Protestant during the reformation.

The structure on South Street is all that remains.

Charles Lapworth Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Charles Lapworth was a teacher at Madras College 1875 – 1881.

A self-taught Geologist was the founder of a new geological time (The Ordovician Period)

He became a Professor of Geology in 1881 at Birmingham University.

Plaque Reads:

CHARLES LAPWORTH, LLD, FRS, 1842-1920

Between 1875 and 1881 Lapworth was a teacher of English at Madras College. In his spare time he studied the Rocks of extinct creatures called Graptolites to help unravel the complexities of these ancient rocks. As a result of his careful studies, he proposed anew division of geological time, The Ordovician Period that is now recognised and used internationally. He also correctly interpreted the Moine Thrust Fault Zone in the North West Highlands of Scotland as amass of older rocks pushed over younger ones, an idea which at the time conflicted with orthodoxy. He left St Andrews in 1881 to become Professor of Geology at the University of Birmingham.

Charles Lapworth Plaque

Dr Andrew Bell Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Dr Bell was born in South Street St Andrews in 1753

he died in 1832. Son of Bailie Bell, Andrew was Founder of the Madras College in 1833 he pioneered

the Madras System of Education. 

Teaching system which went worldwide,

where older children taught younger children.

Plaque reads:

The Reverend Dr Andrew Bell 1753 – 1832

An educational reformer and philanthropist. He was born in

St Andrews. It was while serving in Madras in India that he developed a form of schooling where

the older pupils taught the younger.

When he returned he introduced his “Madras” or monitorial system as an economical form of mass education. The idea spread, Madras Schools appearing in Canada and Australia. Among the other local benefactions was the Bell fund for the benefit of St Andrews. He ended his career as Prebendary of Westminster Abbey. Where he is buried.

Dr Andrew Bell Plaque

Dr John Adamson's House
South Street St Andrews

Dr John Adamson's House St Andrews
Dr Adamson's Birthplace St Andrews

Dr John Adamson 1809 - 1870 lived here 1845 - 1865

He was a Physician and pioneer photographer.

In 1841 he too the first calotype portrait.

He also taught his brother Robert and Thomas Rodger the technique and art of photography.  

Holy Trinity Church

South Street St Andrews

The Holy Trinity Church originally stood close to St Andrews Cathedral

and was built in 1144.

It has been in its present position in South Street since 1412. 

Originally served by Roman Catholic priests

it changed with the Reformation in 1559

to Protestant and Episcopalian priests.

Since 1689 the ministers have been Presbyterian.

The Tower and two interior arches are the only original parts of the church from 1412 that remain.

1907 the church was demolished and rebuilt to the previous medieval church’s footprint and rededicated on St Andrews Day in 1909.

Holy Trinity Church St Andrews

The Sharp Aisle

The Sharp Aisle, contains the tomb and monument to Archbishop Sharp (1618-1697),

Sharpe was murdered by Covenanters at Magus Muir 1697.

 

The Great East Window

Dated from 1910

 

The Good Physician

Dated from 1890 is the only surviving window prior to the reconstruction of the church in 1909.

 

John Knox Porch

In 1547 Holy Trinity was the scene of the first public sermon

of the famous reformer, John Knox.

 He also preached in Holy Trinity in 1559, instructing residents of St Andrews to purge the city of "monuments of idolatry". Inspired by Knox's the local population rejected Catholicism, tore down statues and altars, and sacked St Andrews Cathedral.

Holy Trinity Church Archbishop Sharp Monument St Andrews
Holy Trinity Aisle and stai glass window
Holy Trinity John Knox Pulpit
St Andrews Town Hall Plaque

St Andrews Town Hall

South Street St Andrews

St Andrews Town Hall St Andrews Scotland
St Andrews Town Hall Polish Mosaic Memorial

St Andrews Town Hall

St Andrews Town Hall erected in 1858 for municipal and public purposes

Sir Hugh Playfair became Provost of St Andrews in 1842. He was knighted for services to the town and University and received an honorary LLD in 1856

Polish Soldier Mosaic Memorial St Andrews

The mosaic on the town hall of St Andrews commemorates the large number of Polish troops stationed in the area after the capitulation of Poland in 1939.

Robert Burns Club Plaque

South Street St Andrews

St Andrews Burns Club Plaque

Can be found on what was the Royal Hotel where the club was founded

on 25th January 1869.

13 in the Robert Burns World Federation

Robert Burns Club St Andrews
Robert Burns Club Plaque
Blackfriars Chapel Royal Hotel Madras College. map

Hamish McHamish Statue

Logies Lane St Andrews

Hamish the Cat St Andrews

Hamish McHamish was a ginger cat

(aged 15 years)

that lived in St Andrews Scotland.

He became am international star when a book entitled Hamish McHamish of

St Andrews: Cool Cat About Town was published. Hamish a social media star

with his own Facebook page and Twitter account @Hamish_McHamish.

A nomadic cat that was looked after by many of the residents of St Andrews.

Once owned by Marianne Baird.

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry

South Street St Andrews

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry Plaque

In 1620 Edward Raban came to

St Andrews and set up a printing press in a building on the corner of North Street and Church Street.

This was later demolished by Bailie Bell in 1740 so he could build his house. This house is where his son was born in 1753 (Andrew).  Andrew was to found Madras College and the "monitorial system" of education.

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry

Royal Coat of Arms Tablet

South Street St Andrews

 Royal Coat of Arms of St Andrews

George Martine of Claremont
South Street St Andrews

George Martine of Claremont 1635 -1712,

 Lived in South Street. He was a lawyer commissary clerk of St Andrews and author of the

First history of the Archbishopric "Reliquiae Divi Andreae"

‘The State of the Venerable See of St. Andrews’. His work was written in 1683, but not published till 1797.

George Martine of Claremont St Andrews

Dr George Martine (The Younger) FRS 1700 - 1741

Dr George Martine was a physician, surgeon and geologist, who later lived at 56 South Street.

He was the first to make a careful study of heat and scales of temperature, and made the

First estimate -400F, of the absolute zero temperature. 

He made the first useful mercury in glass clinical thermometer.

He also at this address in 1730 performed the first Tracheotomy in Britain.

He died of bilious fever during the battle of Jenkins Ear in 1741.

James David Forbes House 

South Street St Andrews

James David Forbes was born in Edinburgh 20 April 1809

at 86 George Street.

He was educated at Edinburgh University in 1825.  At 19, became a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and in 1832

he was elected to the

Royal Society of London.

In 1859 he was appointed successor to David Brewster as principal of the United College of St Andrews, which he held until his death in 1868. It could be said he was first to study the heating of the earth.  

James David Forbes House St Andrews
James David Forbes Plaque St Andrews

James Boswell + Samuel Johnson
South Street St Andrews

This is the site of the Glass Inn

29 South Street

where Boswell and Dr Johnson had supper on the 18th August 1773.

We had a dreary drive in a dusky night to St Andrews where we arrived late. We found a good supper at Glass's Inn.

The Glass Inn survived circa 1830

Glass's Inn Boswell and Samuels Visit

John Gillespie Sundial
South Street St Andrews

John Gillespie Sundial St Andrews

James Gregory's

Meridian Line

South Street St Andrews

South Street St Andrews Scotland

James Gregory was

first Regis professor of Mathematics. 

He and two others were the founders of calculus.

He invented the Gregorian telescope. 

The Meridian Line was established in 1672.

James Gregory mathematically established a meridian line,

a line circling earth from pole to pole

along which the time is the same

this line passed through St Andrews.

The Greenwich Meridian (GMT) is now

how time is calculated around the world.

St Andrews Meridian / Gregory's Meridian

is 12 minutes behind GMT

Stand with one foot on each side of the line

and you will be standing in both

the Eastern and Western Hemispheres. 

You also have an extra 12 minutes

to get to where you are going. 

Gregory's Meridian Line Plaque St Andrews
Gregory's Meridian Line St Andrews
Gregory's Meridian Line St Andrews
bottom of page