Humbie Attractions

East Lothian

Humbie Village

East Lothian

Humbie Village is in the furthest corner of East Lothian adjoining Midlothian and Berwickshire.

Humbie is a small rural village with the Humbie Hub at its heart. The village shop, post office and café are the centre of the village life. Humbie was part of the Barony of Keith and was once called Keith Hundeby.

Humbie Village East Lothian
Humbie Hub East Lothian

Humbie Do'cot

East Lothian

Humbie Do'cot is near the entrance to Humbie kirk. The Do'cot may have stood here for hundreds of years before renovations took place. 

Humbie Village Do'cot East Lothian

Humbie Parish Church

East Lothian

Humbie Parish Church was rebuilt in 1800 but a church has stood on this spot for over a hundred and fifty years prior to that date. The 'chancel' was added in 1932. Memorials in the churchyard include a heraldic tablet of the Borthwicks of Whitburgh of the early 17th century.   The now cottage to the right of the arch hedge once was stables. Further down the road at the Kirk Bridge is where you can enter the Church woods where you have a choice of paths to follow in a loop.

Humbie Church East Lothian
Humbie Parish Church entrance.East Lothi

Broun Family Aisle
Humbie
 East Lothian
The village war memorial dates from 1921 and was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer. The plaque reads;
This Aisle has been erected by Archibald Broun of Johnstounburn.
" Lieu of the burial place of his family within the church. 
Which in deference to the feeling of the parishioners.
He has now closed A.D. MDCCCLXIV (1864).
And I heard a voice from heaven saying unto me 
Blessed are the dead.Which die in the lord.
Revelations XIV.

Broun Family Isle Humbie East Lothian
Broun Family Aisle Archibald Broun 1864. Plaque Humbie Church East Lothian

Humbie Village
Church Graveyard
East Lothian
Grave Stones memorials Humbie Churchyard
Shield with cross Borthwick on inscriptions, The grave stone which looks like being part of an ancient wall has inscriptions of James Skirven and his wife and children dates from 1644.

Borthwick Cross Humbie Parish Church Eas
Old Grave Stone Humbie Church East Lothi

Shillinghill, 

Children's Village.

East Lothian

Built in 1905 to provide holiday accommodation for disabled children, the village takes the form of a series of arts and crafts style cottages, several of which were named after their generous sponsors, built next to a school-house and dining hall with its impressive bell-tower. The village has been redeveloped and extended as private housing from c.2008.

Shillinghill  previous Children's Holiday Resort East Lothian
Shillinghill Memorial Fountain Humbie.Ea

Humbie War Memorial
East Lothian
The village war memorial dates from 1921 and was designed by Sir Robert Lorimer.

Humbie War Memorial Humbie Village East Lothian

Humbie Kirk Bridge
East Lothian
The Humbie Kirk Bridge has been in existence since 1645 when it Was first built. This being the main route from the borders towns to Edinburgh from the south west.

Humbie Kirk Bridge 1645 Humbie East Lothian

Keith Marischal House

Keith Marischal House can be found close to Humbie, built in 1589 by the Keith family. 

William Keith being the Grand Marischal of Scotland was to serve as custodian of the Royal Regalia of Scotland, and to protect the king's person when attending parliament.

Sir Charles Annand Fraser 

KCVO WS DL FRSE 

East Lothian

Sir Charles Annand Fraser was born in Humbie East Lothian in 1928. His father was son of the Very Revd 

John Fraser MBE. The Moderator of the General Assembly of the Church of Scotland in 1958-59. Educated to a high standard he became a solicitor and a partner in one of Edinburgh's to legal firms. From there he was successful throughout his life. His wife Lady Ann Fraser is a well renowned botanical artist. They have developed one of the top gardens (Shepherd House) in the UK at there home in Inveresk East Lothian.

The lands of Keith and Humbie were held by Simon Fraser of Keith.  Fraser signed a charter in 1191,

which could be the first written records of the area. 

Shepherds House Garden Entrance Inveresk

Information Board 
Humbie Woods
East Lothian

Humbie woods routes information East Lothian