top of page

中洛錫安

景點

中洛錫安也在愛丁堡的邊界上,有很多景點。

城堡豪宅博物館和郊野公園。

 

達爾豪西城堡,  奧克森福德城堡

博思維克城堡,  克萊頓城堡

  達爾基斯宮,紐巴特爾修道院

梅爾維爾城堡 和阿尼斯頓故居。  

羅斯林教堂,羅斯林城堡

國家礦業博物館

玉米交易博物館 

  沃格里莊園和郊野公園,  

達爾基斯郊野公園 

達爾基斯博物館,聖尼古拉斯教堂

 

Dalkeith Tolbooth,斯圖爾特啤酒廠

水塔樓 

羅伯特·伯恩斯噴泉

庫斯蘭·斯密迪 庫斯蘭城堡遺址

廟村中洛錫安 

佩尼庫克之家,  彭特蘭山 

比爾斯頓格倫礦工紀念館

安迪·斯科特·布什莊園的 Canter

德萊頓塔,  Hillend滑雪場

中洛錫安活動包括

全年無休

滑雪和單板滑雪

Zorbing、高爾夫、獵鷹、賽格威、微型鐵路 

騎自行車、騎馬、 

喬治堡冒險公園

Dalkeith Tolbooth,斯圖爾特啤酒廠 水塔樓 

羅伯特·伯恩斯噴泉 庫斯蘭·斯密迪 庫斯蘭城堡遺址

廟村中洛錫安 Penicuik House, Pentland Hills Dryden Tower

比爾斯頓格倫礦工紀念館 安迪·斯科特·布什莊園的 Canter   Hillend滑雪場

沃格里之家和鄉村公園

最初的 Vogrie House 大約由威士忌蒸餾師 James Dewar 於 1870 年建造,並於 1980 年作為郊野公園開放。Vogrie House 與許多古老的豪宅和城堡一樣,據說也是鬧鬼的地方。自 15 世紀初孟席斯家族成為業主以來,這裡就一直有一處房產。 

一個真正宏偉的地區,可以度過一天。有一個冒險遊樂區和幼兒遊樂公園、一條微型鐵路、帶導遊的自然步道、咖啡館、許多適合步行、騎自行車或騎馬的鄉村小徑。

沃格里鄉村公園

沃格里公園中洛錫安巨人隊椅子

沃格里公園中洛錫安巨型自行車

沃格里公園 Midlothian Vogrie House

沃格里豪斯高爾夫球場。

沃格里賽格威探險小徑

Vogrie House Midlothian,

克萊頓城堡

克萊頓城堡由托馬斯·德·克萊頓 (Thomas de Kreitton) 於 1260 年左右建造。這座城堡仍然屹立不倒,儘管它已成為廢墟。克萊頓家族是愛丁堡附近最早的男爵領地之一,由克萊頓的土地組成,並在 12 世紀初的憲章中有所提及。

Crichton Castle Midlothian

達爾豪斯城堡

達爾豪西 (Dalwolsie) 城堡的拉姆齊 (de Ramesie) 家族自從 1140 年與大衛一世一起從亨廷頓 (Huntingdon) 來到這里後,就一直是城堡和土地的所有者。有證據表明,這座城堡最早建於 1230 年左右。拉姆齊家族與許多著名的時期,在 1314 年班諾克本戰役、1320 年阿布羅斯宣言的簽署、1338 年鄧巴圍攻、1513 年弗洛登戰場戰役和 1600 年高里陰謀中,達爾豪西城堡於 1972 年被拉姆齊家族出售,從那以後一直是一家酒店。城堡的許多原始部分仍然存在,是一個獨特的住宿地點或舉辦婚禮的地方。

Dalhousie Castle Midlothian

阿尼斯頓之家

1571 年,登打士城堡的第 16 代領主喬治登達斯和他的妻子凱瑟琳為他們的兒子詹姆斯買下了這片土地。當時,一座塔樓矗立在這片土地上。今天可以看到的豪宅是由威廉亞當設計的。舊塔僅存的部分是橡樹屋。這座豪宅大約花了近 10 年的時間才完工,大約在 1730 年完工,據說是“蘇格蘭最重要的格魯吉亞鄉村別墅之一”。 

詹姆斯·鄧達斯 (James Dundas) 出生於 1570 年,曾在聖安德魯大學接受教育。他於 1628 年去世,被安葬在博思威克教堂內。他的兒子詹姆斯·鄧達斯爵士於 1620 年至 1679 年成為阿尼斯頓的第一任勳爵,他的兒子羅伯特·鄧達斯第二代阿尼斯頓勳爵 1650 年至 1726 年,羅伯特·鄧達斯的第三任阿尼斯頓勳爵,1685 年至 1783 年,亨利·鄧達斯於 1742 年出生 羅伯特·鄧達斯爵士 19 歲至 19阿尼斯頓四世阿尼斯頓勳爵的繼兄。亨利·鄧達斯 (Henry Dundas) 成為英國最有權勢的人。他於 1811 年 5 月 29 日在梅爾維爾城堡的床上去世,並被埋葬在拉斯瓦德教區教堂。羅伯特·鄧達斯第四代阿尼斯頓勳爵,1713 – 1787 年,羅伯特·鄧達斯第五代阿尼斯頓勳爵

(1758 年 6 月 6 日逝世於 1819 年 6 月 17 日)。男爵頭銜從 1898 年一直延續到最後一位男性繼承人托馬斯·考德伍德·鄧達斯 (Thomas Calderwood Dundas) 去世,後者於 1970 年頭銜終止後去世。現任所有者阿爾西婭·鄧達斯-貝克爾。

Arniston House Midlothian

NEWBATTLE ABBEY 和花園

Newbattle Abbey a Cistercian Monastery 由大衛一世國王於 1140 年創立。 Newbattle Abbey 也是貴族委員會於 1320 年開會的地方,並起草了一份羊皮紙(信件)給教皇約翰 22 世,要求他承認蘇格蘭作為一個國家的獨立並承認羅伯特布魯斯為合法國王。 (這封信是《阿布羅斯宣言》)。 1560 年,馬克·克爾 (Mark Kerr) 從僧侶手中奪走這座古老的修道院後,將其改建為家庭住宅。克爾家族是蘇格蘭一個重要且有影響力的家族,成為洛錫安伯爵 (Earls of Lothian),並於 1701 年成為洛錫安侯爵 (Marquis of Lothian)。

直到 1930 年代,Newbattle Abbey 被改為成人寄宿學院,它才屬於 Kerr 家族。

1937 年,它被贈送給蘇格蘭人民。

Newbattle Abbey Midlothian

博思威克城堡

博思威克城堡是蘇格蘭保存最完好的塔樓之一。 大約由威廉·德·博思維克爵士於 1430 年建造。它是建立在以前的 Locherwart 微塵之上的。由 Locherwart 建於 13 世紀。

Borthwick Castle Midlothian

達爾基斯通行證

Dalkeith 的最後一個 Man Hung 是 1827 年 3 月 1 日的 William Thomson。因為高速公路搶劫罪被判處絞刑,一大群聚集在 Tolbooth 前的人看到絞刑持續了大約 45 分鐘。讓威廉湯姆森懸吊大約 30 分鐘以確保他已經死了。在蘇格蘭的最後一次絞刑發生在 1963 年的阿伯丁,亨利·約翰·伯內特 (Henry John Burnett)。

Dalkeith Tolbooth Midlothian

聖尼古拉斯教堂和拱頂

第一代莫頓伯爵詹姆斯·道格拉斯爵士和他的妻子喬安娜公主(詹姆斯一世的女兒)是巴克盧克墓穴門旁邊的墳墓上的肖像。抬頭看看教堂牆壁上的石像鬼。

St Nicholas Church  Ruins and Vaults
St Nicholas Church Gargoyle Midlothian

達爾基斯宮

最初的主人是阿伯康的格雷厄姆勳爵威廉·德格雷厄姆,達爾基思是提到的格雷厄姆家族中的第一個,他於 1139 年在達爾基斯去世。城堡於 1547 年被英國軍隊摧毀。然後它成為道格拉斯家族的據點。大約在 1640 年,它最終被賣給了 Buccleuch 家族。詹姆斯·道格拉斯第四代莫頓伯爵於 1572 年成為蘇格蘭攝政王,代表蘇格蘭瑪麗女王的幼子詹姆斯六世統治蘇格蘭。大約在 1700 年,達爾基斯城堡被許多人佔領。至少在 1650 年,奧利弗克倫威爾的指揮官、蘇格蘭克倫威爾總督蒙克將軍將達爾基斯宮作為他的總部。莫頓伯爵於 1581 年在愛丁堡的處女座斷頭台上被處決,斷頭台位於卡農蓋特山腳下,據說他是從英格蘭長大的。 Buccleuch 公爵仍然是莊園的所有者。

Dalkeith Palace Midlothian

梅爾維爾城堡 

梅爾維爾城堡以第一任主人加爾弗里德·德梅爾維爾的名字命名,大約在 1150 年。據說梅爾維爾城堡曾一度歸大衛·里齊奧所有,蘇格蘭瑪麗女王經常光顧。其他參觀過這座城堡的皇室成員是 1828 年的喬治四世和 1842 年維多利亞女王在遊覽蘇格蘭時參觀了梅爾維爾城堡。 

據說曾多次看到鬼魂,據信是瑪麗王后在尋找大衛·里齊奧。 

梅爾維爾城堡位於吉爾默頓路最東端的梅爾維爾門,在通往達爾基斯的路上。

登打士家族徽章,可以在梅爾維爾城堡的正門上方看到

 

 

家徽上的座右銘

護盾下方

(翻譯)

    QUOD POTUI PERFECI 

(我已盡我所能)

刻在獅子頭上

(翻譯)

埃薩耶茲

(繼續嘗試)

Melville Castle Coat of Arms Midlothian
Melville Castle Midlothian

達爾基斯玉米交易所/博物館

達爾基斯玉米交易所建於 1854 年,是蘇格蘭最大的玉米市場。 Corn Exchange 也是 Gladstone 和 Churchhill 都發表演講的地方,後來它變成了一個舞廳,最多可以讓 800 人在晚上跳舞。它現在是達爾基斯博物館的所在地,由達爾基斯歷史協會管理。博物館的公共入口位於大樓後面的聖安德魯街。

Dalkeith Corn Exchange Midlothian

羅斯林城堡

​羅斯林城堡距離羅斯林教堂僅 200 碼,這座城堡已被遺忘,但值得一遊​現在是部分廢墟,它最初建於 1300 年左右,有著非常動蕩的歷史。有關於馬背上的鬼魂和在城堡周圍的樹林中徘徊的獵犬的故事。

辛克萊的

亨利辛克萊於 1345 年出生於羅斯林城堡,據稱他於 1398 年前往大洋西邊的土地,這使他成為第一個發現美洲的人,亨利辛克萊是設得蘭群島領主、第一代奧克尼伯爵、羅斯林男爵和聖殿騎士團大師。辛克萊家族是世界旅行者,並在世界各地的戰鬥中戰鬥。當亨利·辛克萊和他的手下在美洲時,其中一位詹姆斯·古恩爵士去世,一塊墓碑被雕刻並放置在他的記憶中。這塊石頭現在仍然被稱為展望山,位於馬薩諸塞州韋斯特福德。這被稱為韋斯特福德騎士。

Roslin Castle Midlothian

考斯蘭·斯密迪

自大約 1700 年以來,該站點上的 Cousland Smiddy(鐵匠)就在 1735 年左右附上了一個小地方居住。 大約 1820 年的鐵匠鋪和大約 1940 年的新作坊。

Cousland Smithy Midlothian

蘇格蘭國家礦業博物館

國家煤礦博物館於 1984 年開放。維多利亞夫人煤礦於 1895 年首次開採。

它於 1981 年關閉了生產。維多利亞夫人煤礦是歐洲保存最完好的維多利亞煤礦,在這裡可以看到人們為了將煤炭運到家中而不得不忍受的一切。

Scottish National Mining Museum.

羅斯林教堂

羅斯林伯爵和伯爵夫人是羅斯林禮拜堂的現任所有者,該禮拜堂由他們的後裔於 1446 年創立。這本書和電影《達芬奇密碼》引起了全世界的關注。參觀小教堂和場地,並參加將告訴您有關羅斯林教堂的所有信息的旅遊。

Rosslyn Chapel Midlothian

奧森福德城堡

最初的塔樓於 1799 年由 Dalrymple 夫人繼承。當時,羅伯特·亞當 (Robert Adam) 設計了一座更大的豪宅,將塔樓納入其中。 建於12世紀的塔樓。該物業於 1760 年由 Dalrymple's of Stair 擁有。它作為一所女子私立寄宿學校使用了 50 多年,並於 1984 年關閉。現在是 Dalrymple 家族的私人住宅。城堡可用於私人和公司活動以及婚禮。

Oxenfoord Castle Midlothian

乾燥塔

站在山頂上,可以遠眺第四河口。 Dryden Tower 大約由 Dryden House(已拆除)的業主於 1850 年建造,用於查看他們的土地和在福斯灣上下移動的船隻。

Dryden Tower Midlothian

中洛錫安活動包括

全年無休

滑雪和單板滑雪

Zorbing、高爾夫、獵鷹、賽格威、微型鐵路 

騎自行車、騎馬、 

喬治堡冒險公園

下面有更多關於中洛錫安的關於蘇格蘭鏈接的照片

bottom of page

Midlothian Attractions

Midlothian is also on the boundary of Edinburgh and has many attractions.

Castles, Mansion Houses, Museums and Country Parks.

 

Dalhousie Castle,  Oxenfoord Castle Borthwick Castle, Crichton Castle

 Dalkeith Palace, Newbattle Abbey Melville Castle and Arniston House. 

Rosslyn Chapel, Roslin Castle National Mining Museum

Corn Exchange Museum   Vogrie House and Country Park,  

Dalkeith Country Park  Dalkeith Museum, St Nicholas Church

Dalkeith Tolbooth, Stewarts Brewery  Water Tower House 

Robert Burns Fountain  Cousland Smiddy, Cousland Castle Ruins

Temple Village Midlothian  Penicuik House, Pentland Hills Dryden Tower

Bilston Glen Miners Memorial  Canter by Andy Scott Bush Estate  Hillend Ski Slop

VOGRIE HOUSE and COUNTRY PARK

The original Vogrie house was built circa 1870 by James Dewar the whisky distiller and opened as a country park in 1980. Vogrie House like many old mansions and castle is said to be haunted. A property has been on the site since early 15th century when the Menzies family were owners. 

A truly magnificent area to have a day out. There is an adventure play area and toddlers play park, a miniature railway, guided nature walks, Café, many country paths for walking, cycling or horse riding.

VOGRIE COUNTRY PARK

Vogrie Park Midlothian Giants Chairs

Vogrie Park Midlothian Gigantic Bicycle

Vogrie Park Midlothian Vogrie House

Vogrie House Golf course.

Vogrie Segway Adventure Trail

Vogrie House Midlothian,

CRICHTON CASTLE

Crichton Castle was built by Thomas de Crichton (Thomas de Kreitton) circa 1260. The castle still stands all be it a ruin. The Crichton family had one of the first baronies near Edinburgh was formed from the lands of Kreitton and is mentioned in charters of the early 12th century.

Crichton Castle Midlothian

DALHOUSIE CASTLE

The Ramsay (de Ramesie) family of Dalhousie (Dalwolsie) Castle Have been owners of the Castle and Lands since Coming from Huntingdon with David I in 1140. There is evidence that the Castle was first built circa 1230. The Ramsay family have been linked to many famous times, at the Battle of Bannockburn 1314, the signing of the declaration of Arbroath 1320, the siege of Dunbar in 1338, the Battle of Flodden Field 1513 and the Gowrie conspiracy of 1600, Dalhousie Castle was sold by the Ramsay’s in 1972 and has been a Hotel since. Many of the original parts to the Castle still remain and is a unique place to stay or have a wedding.

Dalhousie Castle Midlothian

ARNISTON HOUSE

George Dundas, 16th Laird of Dundas Castle, and his wife Katherine bought the land in 1571 for their son James. At that time a Tower House stood on the lands. The mansion House that can be seen today was designed by William Adam. The only part of the old tower that remains is the Oak Room. The Mansion took almost 10 years to complete circa 1730 and is said to be “one of the most important Georgian country houses in Scotland”. 

James Dundas was born in 1570 and was educated at St. Andrew's University. He died in 1628 and is buried within the vestry Borthwick Church. His son Sir James Dundas became 1st Lord of Arniston 1620 - 1679 his son Robert Dundas 2nd Lord Arniston 1650 – 1726, Robert Dundas 3rd Lord Arniston, 1685 – 1783, Henry Dundas born 1742 1st Viscount Melville 18th child of 19 to Robert Dundas 3rd Lord Arniston step brother to Robert Dundas 4th Lord Arniston. Henry Dundas was to become the most powerful person in Britain. He died in his bed in Melville Castle 29 May 1811 and was buried in Lasswade Parish church. Robert Dundas 4th Lord Arniston, 1713 – 1787, Robert Dundas 5th Lord Arniston

(6th June 1758 died 17 June 1819). The title continued as Baronet from 1898 until the death of the last male heir, Thomas Calderwood Dundas who died in 1970 when the title died out. The present owner Althea Dundas-Bekker.

Arniston House Midlothian

NEWBATTLE ABBEY and GARDENS

Newbattle Abbey a Cistercian Monastery was founded in 1140 by King David I. Newbattle Abbey was also where a council of Nobles met in 1320 and drafted a parchment (letter) to Pope John XXII asking him to recognise Scotland’s independence as a country and acknowledge Robert the Bruce as the lawful king. (The letter was, The Declaration of Arbroath). Mark Kerr made the old Abbey into a family home after taking it from the Monk in 1560. The Kerr Family were an important and influential family in Scotland becoming the Earls of Lothian and in 1701 the Marquis of Lothian.

It was in the Kerr family until the 1930s when Newbattle Abbey was changed to an adult residential college.

In 1937it was gifted to the people of Scotland.

Newbattle Abbey Midlothian

BORTHWICK CASTLE

Borthwick Castle, is one of the best preserved Tower Houses in Scotland.  Built circa 1430 by Sir William de Borthwick. It was built on the previous the Mote of Locherwart. Built in the 13th century by the Locherwart.

Borthwick Castle Midlothian

DALKEITH TOLBOOTH

The last Man Hung in Dalkeith was William Thomson on March 1, 1827. Sentenced to hang for highway robbery a large crowd gathered in front of the Tolbooth see the hanging which lasted circa 45 minutes. Leaving William Thomson Hanging for around 30 minutes to ensure he was dead. The last hanging in Scotland took place in Aberdeen in 1963 a Henry John Burnett.

Dalkeith Tolbooth Midlothian

ST NICHOLAS CHURCH and VAULT

Sir James Douglas, 1st Earl of Morton, and his wife Princess Joanna, daughter of James I are the effigies on the tomb next to the door to the Buccleuch Burial Vault. Look up at the gargoyles on the church walls.

St Nicholas Church  Ruins and Vaults
St Nicholas Church Gargoyle Midlothian

DALKEITH PALACE DALKEITH

Original owners were the Grahams Lord William de Graham, of Abercorn and Dalkeith was first of the Graham family mentioned living in Dalkeith where he died in 1139. The Castle was destroyed in 1547 by an English Army. It then became the Douglas family stronghold. It was finally sold to the Buccleuch family in circa 1640. James Douglas 4th Earl of Morton who became the Regents of Scotland in 1572 ruled Scotland on behalf of James VI infant son of Mary Queen of Scots. There has been many occupiers of what was Dalkeith Castle renamed circa 1700. No less than in 1650, Oliver Cromwell's Commander, General Monk, Cromwell's Governor in Scotland made Dalkeith Palace his headquarters. The Earl of Morton was executed 1581 in Edinburgh on the Maiden a guillotine which stood at the foot of the Canongate which was said he had brought up from England. The Duke of Buccleuch is still the owner of the estate.

Dalkeith Palace Midlothian

Melville Castle 

Melville Castle named after the first owner Galfrid De Melville Circa 1150. Melville Castle was also said to have been for a time owned by David Rizzio and Mary Queen of Scots often visited. Other Royals that have visited the castle are George IV in 1828 and in 1842 Queen Victoria visited Melville Castle when she was on her tour of Scotland. 

It is said that a ghost has been seen on many occasions and it is thought to be Queen Mary looking for David Rizzio. 

Melville Castle can be found at the very east end of Gilmerton Road at Melville Gate on the road to Dalkeith.

The Dundas family crest which can be seen above the main entrance to Melville Castle

 

 

THE MOTTO ON THE FAMILY CREST

BELOW THE SHIELD

(TRANSLATION)

      QUOD POTUI PERFECI 

(I HAVE DONE WHAT I COULD TO THE BEST OF MY ABILITY)

INSCRIBED ABOVE THE LION'S HEAD

(TRANSLATION)

ESSAYEZ

(KEEP TRYING)

Melville Castle Coat of Arms Midlothian
Melville Castle Midlothian

DALKEITH CORN EXCHANGE / MUSEUM

The Dalkeith Corn Exchange was built in 1854 and was the largest corn market in Scotland’s. The Corn Exchange was also where both Gladstone and Churchhill both made speeches, it later became a ballroom where up to 800 could dance the night away. It now houses the museum for Dalkeith, managed by the Dalkeith History Society. The public entrance to the museum is in St Andrew Street which is at the back of the building.

Dalkeith Corn Exchange Midlothian

ROSLIN CASTLE

​Roslin Castle is only 200 yards from Rosslyn Chapel the castle has been forgotten about but is worth a visit​ now a partial ruin it was originally built circa 1300 and has had a very turbulent history. There are stories of ghosts on horseback and a hound that prowls the woods around the castle.

SINCLAIR’S

Henry Sinclair was born in Roslin Castle in 1345 and it is claimed that he travelled to lands west of the large ocean in 1398 making him the first to discover the Americas, Henry Sinclair was Lord of Shetland, 1st Earl of Orkney, Baron of Roslin and Grand Master Knights Templar. The Sinclair family were world travellers and fought in battles worldwide. When Henry Sinclair and his men were in the Americas one of the party Sir James Gunn died and a grave stone was carved and placed in his memory. This stone still remains now known as Prospect Hill, located in Westford, Massachusetts. This is known as the Westford Knight.

Roslin Castle Midlothian

COUSLAND SMIDDY

The Cousland Smiddy (Blacksmiths) on this site since circa 1700 attached a butt ‘n’ ben circa 1735 a small place to live.  A later Blacksmiths cottage circa 1820 and a new workshop circa 1940.

Cousland Smithy Midlothian

NATIONAL MINING MUSEUM SCOTLAND

The National Coal Mining Museum opened in 1984. The Lady Victoria Colliery, was first mined in 1895.

It closed its production in 1981. The Lady Victoria Colliery is the best preserved Victorian collier in Europe a place to see what people had to endure to bring coal to people's homes.

Scottish National Mining Museum.

ROSSLYN CHAPEL

The Earl and Countess of Rosslyn are the present owners of Rosslyn Chapel which was founded by their descendants in 1446. It has been brought to the attention of the world by the book and film The Da Vinci Code. Visit the chapel and grounds and take the tour which will tell you all about Rosslyn Chapel.

Rosslyn Chapel Midlothian

OXENFOORD CASTLE

The original Tower House was inherited by Lady Dalrymple in 1799. Robert Adam, design a larger mansion house incorporating the Tower House at that time.  The tower house built in the 12th century. The property was owned by the Dalrymple’s of Stair in 1760. It was used as a girls’ private boarding school for over 50 years and closed in 1984. It is now a private residence of the Dalrymple family. The castle can be booked for Private & Corporate Events and Weddings.

Oxenfoord Castle Midlothian

DRYDEN TOWER

Stands on the summit of a hill which gives views as far as the Forth Estuary. Dryden Tower built circa 1850 by the owners of Dryden House (Demolished) was for viewing their lands and shipping moving up and down the Firth of Forth.

Dryden Tower Midlothian

Midlothian Activities that include

All year round

Skiing and Snow Boarding

Zorbing, Golf, Falconry, Segway, Miniature Railway 

Cycling, Horse Riding, 

Fort George Adventure Park

THERE ARE MORE PHOTOS OF MIDLOTHIAN ON ALL ABOUT SCOTLAND LINK BELOW