Saint Andrew or Saint Andraeas of Greece is the patron saint of Scotland. His bones were brought from Greece by a holy man named Rule, later St Rule (Regulus) a holy man from the area of Patras in Greece in the mid-4th century AD. Rule protected the bones of Saint Andrew from the Romans by taking them as far north from Greece as possible ending his journey in Scotland. Circa 1070 in the time of Malcolm III a church (St Rule’s Tower St Andrews Fife) was built to protect the bones of St Andrew. His wife Margaret visiting St Andrews on many pilgrimages possibly behind the building of the church. .
St Andrews Coat of Arms
West Port St Andrews
St Andrews Coat of Arms
St Andrews Museum
Thomas Rodger's House
Thomas Rodger, 1832-1883. Rodger's photographic studio was built in 1866 in St. Andrews. St Andrews University Library has a photographic collection of his work. Thomas Rodger was a well-respected professional Scottish photographer.
Hamish McHamish Statue
Hamish McHamish was a ginger cat (aged 15 years) that lived in St Andrews Scotland.
He became am international star when a book entitled Hamish McHamish of St Andrews: Cool Cat About Town was published. Hamish a social media star with his own Facebook page https://www.facebook.com/HamishMcHamishOfStAndrews and Twitter account @Hamish_McHamish. A nomadic cat that was looked after by many of the residents of St Andrews. Once owned by Marianne Baird.
Dr John Adamson 1809 - 1870 lived here 1845 - 1865
He was a Physician and pioneer photographer.
In 1841 he too the first calotype portrait.
He also taught his brother Robert and Thomas Rodger the technique and art of photography.
Dr John Adamson's House
Blackfriars Chapel was built in 1525 and damaged by fire in 1547 and destroyed in 1559 by a Protestant during the reformation. The structure on South Street is all that remains.
St Andrews Heritage Museum
St Andrews Heritage Museum and Gardens traces the social and working lives of the local people of St Andrews with artefacts from the previous centuries. The museum is in a 17th century fisherman’s house and garden in the centre of the historic streets of St Andrews with free entry,
St Andrews Museum
The Owner Dr David Buddo named his house after a battle in the Crimean War on 1855.
The Lord Provost lived here from 1872 - 1920 when the council acquired the house and gardens.
The Museum opened in 1991.
St Andrews Museum and Gallery has exhibitions throughout the year with gardens and activities for the children and a café and shop.
The Axe was used to execute criminals in St Andrews in the 17th Century Memorial Bust of
Wladyslaw Eugeniusz Sikorski who was Prime Minister of Poland and a military leader. He was also involved in the cause for the independence of Poland from the Russian Empire.
The West Port
South Street St Andrews Scotland
The West Port was built circa 1580 and is the only gate in its original position left in Scotland. It does not seem to be part of a town wall that would have been closed in case of invasion by the English, The gate was extensively refurbished in 1843. Above the centre of the arch is the St Andrews Coat of Arms
South Street St Andrews Scotland James Gregory was first regius professor of Mathematics.
He laid a Meridian in 1748. He and two others were the founders of calculus.
He invented the Gregorian telescope To a more in-depth look at Gregory's work go to
St Mary's College
St Mary's Quadrangle St Andrews Scotland St Andrews University founded in 1413 is the oldest University in Scotland.
Bishop Wardlaw Statue
Henry Wardlaw was a founder of the university.
The ruined archway is the original boundary wall from circa 1420.
Great Holm Oak Tree
This tree in the centre of the quadrangle
was planted circa 1750.
St Andrews Cathedral
The Pends St Andrews KY16 9QL Scotland
The Cathedral of St Andrews was built circa 1160 and was the religious centre of the Medieval Catholic Church in Scotland. It as left disused and fell into ruin after Catholic mass was outlawed in 1560.
The Scottish Reformation in Scotland came to a head with iconoclasm (the deliberate destruction of religious icons or monuments) all over Scotland. St Andrews was the target of the army of the Lords of the Congregation as they destroyed alters and religious icons, and whitewashed the walls the churches.
St Rules Tower
Circa 1070 in the time of Malcolm III
a church (St Rule’s Tower St Andrews) was built to protect the bones of
St Andrew that Rule had carried from Greece.
More on his journey to Scotland see
St Andrews Castle
The Scores St Andrews Scotland
St Andrews Castle is a place to visit when in the area first built circa 1070 the castle was erected around at the time of Malcolm III who also was behind the fortification of Edinburgh Castle.
The St Andrews Castle ruins can be found on the top of a cliff north of the town.
St Andrews Scotland
George John Whyte-Melville Memorial Fountain St Andrews Scotland.
Iconic landmark in Market Street St Andrews
St Andrews Town Hall
St Andrews Town Hall erected in 1858 for municipal and public purposes
Sir Hugh Playfair Provost.
Polish Soldier St Andrews Memorial
St Mary on the Rocks
St Mary on the Rocks the remains of a church possibly built circa 1240
George Martine of Claremont
George Martine of Claremont 1635 -1712
Lived in South Street He was a lawyer commissary clerk of St Andrews and author of the First history of the Archbishopric :- "Reliquiae Divi Andreae"
George Martine FRS 1700 - 1741
George was a physician, surgeon and geologist, who later lived at 56 South Street. He was the first to make a careful study of heat and scales of temperature, and made the First estimate -400F, of the absolute zero temperature, He made the first useful mercury in glass clinical thermometer. Here was in 1730 he performed the first Tracheotomy in Britain
Robert Chambers House
Robert Chambers built this house 6 Gillespie Terrace in St Andrews in 1863 after marrying his second wife in North Street St Andrews in 1867 and lived here till his death in 1871. Chambers was top publishing house of its time in Edinburgh.
In 1844 he wrote "Vestiges of the natural history of creation"
(A theory of Evolution) 15yrs prior to Darwin.
James Boswell and Samuel Johnson
This is the site of the Glass Inn 29 South Street where Boswell and Dr Johnson had supper on 18th August 1773.
We had a dreary drive in a dusky night to St Andrews where we arrived late. We found a good supper at Glass's Inn.
The Glass Inn survived circa 1830
Gavin Douglas 1474 - 1522
Gavin Douglas was born in Tantallon Castle East Lothian.
He was 3rd son of Archibald "Bell the Cat" Douglas 5th Earl of Angus. and had a house near this spot. A student of St Andrews University, he was a poet noted for his "Palice of Honour" and for his "Eneados" a translation of Virgil's "Aeneid" into Scots. He was Dean of St Giles Edinburgh in 1501 the Bishop of Dunkeld in 1515. Died 1522 London of the Plague. His Coat of Arms once was above the plaque see below what it looked like.
Sir George Douglas of Lochleven
Sir George Douglas lived in what was known as "Archdeacons Inns" as it was the residence of the Archdeacon of St Andrews Sir George was younger brother of William Douglas who owned Lochleven Castle where Mary Queen of Scots was imprisoned between June 1567 and May1568. see more of the escape of Mary Queen of Scots with the help of the Douglas family from Lochleven, on the plaque. George spent 6 years in France before returning to Scotland in 1574.
University of St Andrews
7A The Scores
Preservation Trust Museum
12 North Street
University of St Andrews
St Andrews Harbour
B9131 Dunino Village
Holy Trinity Church
St Mary's Places
Tom Morris Grave
Bell Pettigrew Museum
Bute Medical Buildings
School of Biology
East Newhall Farm
Kingsbarns Parish Church
St Andrews Pier
Craigtoun Country Park
Cambo Estate Gardens
Eden Mill Distillery