top of page

Golf Attractions

St Andrews

St Andrews is also known worldwide as the home of golf.  

According to the earliest surviving document, the "playing at golf"

on the links adjacent to the river Eden was granted permission by Archbishop Hamilton in 1552.

The local authority (council) of St Andrews have owned the Links since 1894 and the St Andrews Link Trust run the business.

The Old Course has held The Open Championship 24 times, first time being in 1873.

There are many things to see around the area of the Old Course at St Andrews.

The R&A St Andrews Old Golf Club and the New Club. Museums and attractions.

R&A Golf Club

18th Green Old Course St Andrews Scotland

The Royal and Ancient

Golf Club of St Andrews

was founded on 14 May 1754.

R & A 18th Green Old Course St Andrews

British Golf Museum

Bruce Embankment 

St Andrews Scotland

This museum highlights the world of golf its origins its players and the history of a game played worldwide. The game played in the 1300’s in Edinburgh and played to rules for the first time in 1744. Find out more on https://www.allaboutedinburgh.co.uk/golf-history-scotland

British Golf Museum St Andrews

The Swilcan Bridge

The Old Course

St Andrews  Scotland

The most famous bridge in golf

on the 18th fairway of the Old Course

at St Andrews.

The Swilcan Bridge has been used to cross the Swilcan Burn as you see it now since 1835.

Previously called the Golfers Bridge for

several hundred years as it was the only

way of crossing the burn. 

Swilcan Bridge St Andrews Old Course

Golf Courses in St Andrews

Old Course - Dukes Course   
New Course - Castle Course 
Fairmont Torrance - Fairmont Kittocks
Eden Course - Strathtyrum Course
Balgove Course - Jubilee Course
More details on this link

St Andrews Golf Club
The Links  St Andrews


The golf club was established by a number of local tradesmen who enjoyed a game of golf.  In September 1843 The St Andrews Mechanics Golf Club opened.

St Andrews Golf Club St Andrews Scotland

The New Club
The Links  St Andrews

 

Tom Morris Plaque
The New Club was founded in 1902 as the only club at the time was for the members of the R& A who were the gentry. This was a club started by local 8 businessmen.

Tom Morris was the first honorary member and unfortunately had a fall in the club which was fatal on the 24th May 1908.

New Club and Tom Morris Plaque

Old Course Shop

 The Links  St Andrews 

The Old Golf Shop facing the 18th Green of The Old Course of St Andrews opened in 2006.

The building was previously the Forgan golf factory. Robert Forgan opened the Factory in 1860 for the History of Forgan and Golf clubs see https://www.forgan.co.uk/history-of-forgan

Old Course Golf Shop St Andrews Scotland

St Andrews Links Plaque

St Andrews

Royal and Ancient Golf Club was founded in 1754. The Old Course  was made up of 12 holes playing 10 hole twice giving a 22 hole course. In 1764, the R&A decided holes were too short and converted the first four holes into two holes. Which created the now standard 18-hole round of golf. 

St Andrews Links Plaque

Auchterlonie Plaque
Pilmour Links

North Street St Andrews

Willie Auchterlonie born in St Andrews 1872.

A golf club maker and a professional golfer.

He won the 33rd Open Championship

at Prestwick aged 21.

With clubs he made himself.

He became honorary professional

to the R & A in 1935,

and was first to be made an honorary

member of the Royal and Ancient Club.

The Auchterlonie Plaque St Andrews

The Old Pavilion
Old Course St Andrews

 

The Old Pavilion opened in 2014 

including the Caddie Pavilion and

new Public Shelter.

Located on the far side of the 18th green

of the old Course St Andrews

The Old Pavilion St Andrews Links Scotland

 Morris Family House
Pilmour Links 
North Street St Andrews

 

Tom Morris lived here from 1866

till his death in 1908.

4 times Open Champion and

Keeper of the greens in St Andrews from

1864 till 1903.

Tommy his son won the Open Championship

4 times and lived here from 1866 – 1874

and returned in 1875 and died in this house.

Tom and Tommy Morris House St Andrews
Tom and Tommy Morris Plaque St Andrews

Jock Hutchison Plaque
North Street St Andrews

Jock Hutchison was born in St Andrews

06 June 1884 (John Waters Hutchison).

He became a professional golfer

and won the Open Championship

at St Andrews over

36 holes by 9 strokes in 1921.

The previous year he won the PGA Championship. He die, aged 93 in 1977.

He won the inaugural PGA Seniors'

Championship in 1937 and inductee of

the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2011

Jock Hutchison Plaque St Andrews
Jock Hutchison Plaque
bottom of page