top of page

傑德堡景點

蘇格蘭

傑德堡
蘇格蘭邊境景點 

傑德堡是蘇格蘭邊境的四個修道院城鎮之一。傑德堡曾被英國和法國占領,由於其靠近英格蘭的位置,幾個世紀以來曾多次遭到本恩襲擊。蘇格蘭瑪麗女王曾在這里居住過一段時間 塔樓現在是一座博物館,專門展示她的生與死。 

傑德堡 Mercat Cross

原始的古 Jedburgh mercat 十字架被現在的十字架所取代。原來的遺跡 十字架是石頭獨角獸的一部分 這可以在蘇格蘭瑪麗女王之家博物館中看到。

Jedburgh's Mercat Cross Scotland

蘇格蘭瑪麗女王

房子和博物館

蘇格蘭瑪麗女王於 1566 年病癒時曾在此居住過一段時間。塔樓仍保留了 16 世紀的樣子。房子裡有瑪麗的許多重要文件和財物。這座房子充滿了瑪麗的生平和她的死亡。一個偉大的女王的生活和家庭成員手中悲慘結局的博物館。

mary queen of scots house jedburgh
Mary Queen of Scots House inside
Mary Queen of Scot's Death Mask Jedburgh
Mary Queen of Scots House Interior Jedbu
Mary Queen of Scots arrest warrant.JPG

瑪麗的最後一封信

蘇格蘭瑪麗女王的最後一封信

瑪麗的最後一封信是有史以來最淒美的一封信。它向法國國王、她心愛的第一任丈夫的兄弟解釋說,如果她同意放棄信仰,她的天主教會不允許她接受伊麗莎白提出的暫緩處決。

mary queen of scots last letter

瑪麗的最後一封信

蘇格蘭瑪麗女王的最後一封信

瑪麗的最後一封信是有史以來最淒美的一封信。它向法國國王、她心愛的第一任丈夫的兄弟解釋說,如果她同意放棄信仰,她的天主教會不允許她接受伊麗莎白提出的暫緩處決。

瑪麗的最後一封信的法語翻譯

 

蘇格蘭女王

 

1587 年 2 月 8 日

皇兄,出於上帝的旨意,為了我的罪孽,我將自己投向了我表弟的女王的手中,我在她的手中受了近二十年的苦難。 我終於被她和她的遺產判處死刑,我要求提供文件,他們已經拿走了,以便我可以立遺囑,有點我無法恢復任何對我有用的東西,甚至無法得到要么自由地表達我的意願,要么像我希望的那樣在我死後將我的身體運送到你的王國,在那裡我有幸成為你的女王、你的姐姐和前盟友。

 今晚,飯後,我被告知我的判決:我將在早上八點像罪犯一樣被處決。 我還沒來得及把所發生的一切都告訴你,但如果你聽我的醫生和我其他不幸的僕人的話,你就會知道真相,感謝上帝,我如何蔑視死亡並發誓即使我是他們的臣民,我也沒有任何罪行。天主教信仰和我的上帝對英國王室權利的主張是我受到譴責的兩個問題,但我不能說我是為了我的天主教信仰而死,而是因為害怕干擾他們的信仰. 證據是他們帶走了我的牧師,雖然他在城堡裡,但我沒能得到他的許可,讓他來聽我的懺悔並給我最後的聖禮,而他們一直非常堅持我得到了他們部長的安慰和指示,他們為此目的被帶到這裡。 這封信的攜帶者和他的同伴,其中大多數是你的臣民,將在我的時間為我的行為作證。 我仍然要懇求您最虔誠的基督徒陛下,我的姐夫和前盟友,他一直抗議您對我的愛,現在在所有這些方面證明您的善良:首先是通過慈善事業,支付我的不幸僕人應得的工資——這是我良心上的一個負擔,只有你才能減輕:此外,通過向上帝祈禱,為一位擁有最基督徒頭銜的女王祈禱,她以天主教徒的身份去世,被剝奪了她的所有財產。 至於我的兒子,我盡量把他推薦給你,因為我不能替他回答。 我冒昧送你兩顆寶石,防病護身符,相信你會身體健康,長壽幸福。 從你慈愛的嫂子那裡接受它們,在她去世時,她見證了她對你的溫暖。 我再次向你們推薦我的僕人。 如果你喜歡,請指示,為了我的靈魂,你欠我的部分將得到償還,為了耶穌基督,我明天死時會為你祈禱。 我有足夠的時間去建立一個紀念彌撒並進行慣常的施捨。

 

 你是最可愛最真實的姐姐,

 

瑪麗·R  
 

獻給最虔誠的基督徒國王、兄弟和前盟友。

傑德堡修道院

 傑德堡修道院由大衛一世於 1138 年作為奧古斯丁修道院建立。 從 9 世紀起,這裡就有一座教堂或修道院。這座修道院是 1153 年至 1165 年間蘇格蘭國王馬爾科姆四世加冕的地方。另一個歷史性時刻是 1249 年至 1286 年間蘇格蘭國王亞歷山大三世的婚禮,

當他從馬上摔下來的時候。

Jedburgh Abbey Scotland
Jedburgh Abbey Scottish Borders

大衛布魯斯特爵士 

作為傑德堡的兒子之一,大衛布魯斯特將成為有史以來最重要的發明家之一和愛丁堡大學的校長。 DAVID BREWSTER KR 1781 年出生於 Jedburgh,1868 年死於愛丁堡。 David Brewster 是我們這個時代最重要的發明者之一,發明了萬花筒、柱狀立體鏡、雙目相機、多區透鏡、燈塔照明器、偏光計。他還在光纖和激光器的開發方面發揮了重要作用。

Sir David Brewster Statue Edinburgh

傑德堡博物館城堡和監獄

該遺址上的第一座城堡由大衛一世國王於 1140 年左右建造。大衛一世去世後,他 12 歲的孫子馬爾科姆成為了馬爾科姆四世國王。馬爾科姆四世於 1165 年在傑德堡城堡去世,享年 23 歲。 蘇格蘭人於 1409 年拆除了傑德堡城堡,以阻止英國人將城堡用作對抗蘇格蘭人的堡壘。現在的結構建成之前是 1823 年。這座監獄以城堡的形式建造,但曾是供男人、女人和兒童使用的債務人監獄,並於 1868 年關閉。這座監獄現在用作活博物館。被處決囚犯的鬼魂所困擾,聽到和經歷了許多奇怪的事情。

Jedburgh Castle and Jail Scottish Border

傑德堡岩石時代

這座位於蘇格蘭女王瑪麗花園中的岩石被認為已有 1400 多年的歷史,可以看到大約 8 世紀的雕刻。 這塊岩石是位於邦蓋特傑德堡的一個古老十字架的底座。它也可能用於其他目的。

Jedburgh Cross Base_
bottom of page

Jedburgh Attractions

Scotland

Jedburgh
Scottish Borders Attractions 

Jedburgh is one of the four Abbey towns of the Scottish Borders. Jedburgh has been occupied by the English and French and has benn attacked many times through the centuries due to its position near to England. It is where Mary Queen of Scots lived for some time in a  tower house which is now a museum dedicated to her life and death. 

Jedburgh Mercat Cross

The original ancient  Jedburgh mercat cross was replaced by the present cross. The remains of the original  cross is a part of the stone unicorn  which can be seen in Mary Queen of Scots House museum.

Jedburgh's Mercat Cross Scotland

Mary Queen of Scots

House and Museum

Mary Queen of Scots lived here for a period when recuperating from an illness in 1566. The tower house has been preserved as it was in the 16th century. The house holds many important documents and belongings of Mary . This House is full of the life of Mary and her demise. A museum to the life of a great Queen and a tragic end at the hands of a family member.

mary queen of scots house jedburgh
Mary Queen of Scots House inside
Mary Queen of Scot's Death Mask Jedburgh
Mary Queen of Scots House Interior Jedbu
Mary Queen of Scots arrest warrant.JPG

Mary's Last Letter

Mary Queen of Scots last letter

Mary’s last letter is one of the most poignant ever written. It explains to the King of France, brother of her beloved first husband, that her Catholicism would not allow her to accept the stay of execution offered by Elizabeth if she agreed to renounce her faith.

mary queen of scots last letter

Mary's Last Letter

Mary Queen of Scots last letter

Mary’s last letter is one of the most poignant ever written. It explains to the King of France, brother of her beloved first husband, that her Catholicism would not allow her to accept the stay of execution offered by Elizabeth if she agreed to renounce her faith.

Translation of Mary’s last letter from French

 

Queen of Scotland

 

8 Feb 1587

Royal brother, having by God’s will, for my sins I think, thrown myself into the power of the Queen my cousin, at whose hands I have suffered much for almost twenty years.  I have finally been condemned to death by her and her Estates, I have asked for papers, which they have taken away, in order that I might make my will, bit I have been unable to recover anything of use to me, or even get leave either to make my will freely or to have my body conveyed after my death, as I would wish, to your kingdom where I had the honour to be queen, your sister and former ally.

 Tonight, after dining, I was advised of my sentence: I am to be executed like a criminal at eight in the morning.  I have not had time to give you a full account of everything that has happened, but if you will listen to my doctor and my other unfortunate servants, you will learn the truth, and how, thanks to God, I scorn death and vow that I meet it innocent of any crime, even if I were their subject. The Catholic faith and the assertion of my God given right to the English crown are the two issues on which I am condemned and yet I am not allowed to say that it is for my Catholic religion that I die, but for fear of interference with theirs.  The proof of this is that they have taken away my chaplain and, although he is in the castle, I have not been able to get permission for him to come and hear my confession and give me the Last Sacrament, while they have been most insistent that I receive the consolation and instruction of their minister, brought here for that purpose.  The bearer of this letter and his companions, most of them your subjects, will testify to my conduct at my hour.  It remains for me to beg Your Most Christian Majesty, my brother-in-law and former ally, who has always protested your love for me, to give proof now of your goodness on all these points: firstly by charity, in paying my unfortunate servants the wages due them – this is a burden on my conscience that only you can relieve: further, by having prayer offered to God for a queen that has borne the title Most Christian, and who dies a Catholic, stripped of all her possessions.  As for my son, I commend him to you in so far as he deserves, for I cannot answer for him.  I have taken the liberty of sending you two precious stones, talismans against illness, trusting that you will enjoy good health and a long and happy life.  Accept them from your loving sister-in-law, who, as she dies, bears witness of her warm feeling for you.  Again I commend my servants to you.  Give instructions, if it please you, that for my soul’s sake part of what you owe me shall be paid, and that for the sake of Jesus Christ, to whom I shall pray for you tomorrow as I die.  I be left enough to found a memorial mass and give the customary alms.

 

 You’re most loving and most true sister,

 

Mary R  
 

To the Most Christian King and brother and former ally.

Jedburgh Abbey

 Jedburgh Abbey was founded in 1138 by David I as an Augustinian priory.  A church or monastery has been on this site from the 9th century. This Abbey was the place of the coronation of Malcolm IV, King of Scotland from 1153 until his death in 1165. The other historic time was the marriage of Alexander III, King of Scots from 1249 until his death 1286,

when he fell from his horse.

Jedburgh Abbey Scotland
Jedburgh Abbey Scottish Borders

Sir David Brewster 

One of Jedburgh's sons, David Brewster was to become one of the most important inventors of all time and the rector of the University of Edinburgh. DAVID BREWSTER K.R. Born Jedburgh in 1781 and died in Edinburgh in 1868. David Brewster was one of the most important inventors of our time inventing the kaleidoscope, lenticular stereoscope, binocular camera, polyzonal lens, lighthouse illuminator, polarimeter. He also was instrumental in the development of fibre optics and lasers.

Sir David Brewster Statue Edinburgh

Jedburgh Museum Castle and Jail

The first castle on this site was built circa 1140 by King David I. When David I died, his 12-year-old grandson Malcolm became, King Malcolm IV. Malcolm IV died at Jedburgh castle in 1165 at the age of 23. Jedburgh Castle was demolished in 1409 by the scots to stop the English from using the Castle as a Fortress against the Scots. It was 1823 before the present structure was built. The prison was built in the form of a castle but was a debtor’s prison for men, women and children and closed in 1868. The prison is now used as a living museum. Haunted by ghost of executed prisoners many strange things have been heard and experienced.

Jedburgh Castle and Jail Scottish Border

Jedburgh Rock of Ages

This Rock that stands in the gardens of Mary, Queen of Scots, House Museum in Jedburgh is thought to be over 1400 years old and carvings from circa 8th century are visible.  The rock was the base of an ancient cross that stood in Bongate Jedburgh. It may have also be used for other purposes.

Jedburgh Cross Base_