top of page

South Street St Andrews

South Street is where you will find St Mary's Quad

and the Gregory meridian. The oldest part of the University

and the town gate (west port). Madras College Blackfriars Chapel ruins, the Town Hall and many other historic sites.

Le port ouest

rue Sud  Saint André  Écosse

Le port ouest a été construit vers 1580 et est la seule porte d'accès à sa position d'origine en Écosse. Il ne semble pas faire partie d'un mur d'enceinte qui aurait été fermé en cas d'invasion par les Anglais, La porte a été largement rénovée en 1843.  Au-dessus du centre de l'arc se trouvent les armoiries de St Andrews 

St Andrews West Port Looking into the Old Town
St Andrews West Port Looking out of the Old Town

Gavin Douglas 1474 - 1522

Gavin Douglas est né à Tantallon Castle East Lothian.

Il était le 3e fils d'Archibald "Bell the Cat" Douglas 5e comte d'Angus. et avait une maison près de cet endroit. Étudiant de l'Université de St Andrews, il était un poète connu pour sa « Palice d'honneur »  et pour son "Eneados" une traduction de "Eneid" de Virgile en écossais. Il était doyen de St Giles Edinburgh en 1501, évêque de Dunkeld en 1515. Mort en 1522 à Londres de la peste. Ses armoiries étaient autrefois au-dessus de la plaque, voyez ci-dessous à quoi cela ressemblait.

Gavin Douglas Plaque St Andrews, Famous People

Madras College 

South Street St Andrews

Madras College first opened in 1833 and takes its name from founder the Rev. Dr Andrew Bell and the educational system he devised. 

see his plaque beside Blackfriars Chapel.

Madras College St Andrews

Chapelle des Blackfriars

Blackfriars Chapel St Andrews
Blackfriars Chapel St Andrews

La chapelle Blackfriars a été construite en 1525 et endommagée par un incendie en 1547 et détruite en 1559 par un protestant lors de la Réforme. La structure sur South Street est tout ce qui reste.

Charles Lapworth Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Charles Lapworth was a teacher at Madras College 1875 – 1881.

A self-taught Geologist was the founder of a new geological time (The Ordovician Period)

He became a Professor of Geology in 1881 at Birmingham University.

Plaque Reads:

CHARLES LAPWORTH, LLD, FRS, 1842-1920

Between 1875 and 1881 Lapworth was a teacher of English at Madras College. In his spare time he studied the Rocks of extinct creatures called Graptolites to help unravel the complexities of these ancient rocks. As a result of his careful studies, he proposed anew division of geological time, The Ordovician Period that is now recognised and used internationally. He also correctly interpreted the Moine Thrust Fault Zone in the North West Highlands of Scotland as amass of older rocks pushed over younger ones, an idea which at the time conflicted with orthodoxy. He left St Andrews in 1881 to become Professor of Geology at the University of Birmingham.

Charles Lapworth Plaque

Dr Andrew Bell Plaque

South Street St Andrews

Dr Bell was born in South Street St Andrews in 1753

he died in 1832. Son of Bailie Bell, Andrew was Founder of the Madras College in 1833 he pioneered

the Madras System of Education. 

Teaching system which went worldwide,

where older children taught younger children.

Plaque reads:

The Reverend Dr Andrew Bell 1753 – 1832

An educational reformer and philanthropist. He was born in

St Andrews. It was while serving in Madras in India that he developed a form of schooling where

the older pupils taught the younger.

When he returned he introduced his “Madras” or monitorial system as an economical form of mass education. The idea spread, Madras Schools appearing in Canada and Australia. Among the other local benefactions was the Bell fund for the benefit of St Andrews. He ended his career as Prebendary of Westminster Abbey. Where he is buried.

Dr Andrew Bell Plaque

Maison du Dr John Adamson

Dr John Adamson's House St Andrews
Dr Adamson's Birthplace St Andrews

Le Dr John Adamson 1809 - 1870 a vécu ici 1845 - 1865

Il était un médecin et un photographe pionnier.

En 1841, lui aussi le premier portrait calotype.

Il a également enseigné à son frère Robert et Thomas Rodger la technique et l'art de la photographie. 

Holy Trinity Church

South Street St Andrews

The Holy Trinity Church originally stood close to St Andrews Cathedral

and was built in 1144.

It has been in its present position in South Street since 1412. 

Originally served by Roman Catholic priests

it changed with the Reformation in 1559

to Protestant and Episcopalian priests.

Since 1689 the ministers have been Presbyterian.

The Tower and two interior arches are the only original parts of the church from 1412 that remain.

1907 the church was demolished and rebuilt to the previous medieval church’s footprint and rededicated on St Andrews Day in 1909.

Holy Trinity Church St Andrews

The Sharp Aisle

The Sharp Aisle, contains the tomb and monument to Archbishop Sharp (1618-1697),

Sharpe was murdered by Covenanters at Magus Muir 1697.

 

The Great East Window

Dated from 1910

 

The Good Physician

Dated from 1890 is the only surviving window prior to the reconstruction of the church in 1909.

 

John Knox Porch

In 1547 Holy Trinity was the scene of the first public sermon

of the famous reformer, John Knox.

 He also preached in Holy Trinity in 1559, instructing residents of St Andrews to purge the city of "monuments of idolatry". Inspired by Knox's the local population rejected Catholicism, tore down statues and altars, and sacked St Andrews Cathedral.

Holy Trinity Church Archbishop Sharp Monument St Andrews
Holy Trinity Aisle and stai glass window
Holy Trinity John Knox Pulpit
St Andrews Town Hall Plaque

Hôtel de ville de St Andrews

Jardins de la Reine

Saint André

KY16 9TA

Écosse 

St Andrews Town Hall St Andrews Scotland
St Andrews Town Hall Polish Mosaic Memorial

Hôtel de ville de St Andrews érigé en 1858 à des fins municipales et publiques

Sir Hugh Playfair Provost.

Soldat polonais St Andrews Memorial

Robert Burns Club Plaque

South Street St Andrews

St Andrews Burns Club Plaque

Can be found on what was the Royal Hotel where the club was founded

on 25th January 1869.

13 in the Robert Burns World Federation

Robert Burns Club St Andrews
Robert Burns Club Plaque
Blackfriars Chapel Royal Hotel Madras College. map

Statue de Hamish McHamish

Allée des Loges

Saint André

KY16 9NL

Écosse

Hamish the Cat St Andrews

Hamish McHamish était un chat roux (âgé de 15 ans) qui vivait à St Andrews en Écosse.

Il est devenu une star internationale lorsqu'un livre intitulé Hamish McHamish of St Andrews: Cool Cat About Town a été publié. Hamish, une star des réseaux sociaux avec sa propre page Facebook https://www.facebook.com/HamishMcHamishOfStAndrews et son compte Twitter @Hamish_McHamish. Un chat nomade dont s'occupaient de nombreux habitants de St Andrews. Autrefois propriété de Marianne Baird.

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry

South Street St Andrews

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry Plaque

In 1620 Edward Raban came to

St Andrews and set up a printing press in a building on the corner of North Street and Church Street.

This was later demolished by Bailie Bell in 1740 so he could build his house. This house is where his son was born in 1753 (Andrew).  Andrew was to found Madras College and the "monitorial system" of education.

Bailie Bell's House and Foundry

Royal Coat of Arms Tablet

South Street St Andrews

 Royal Coat of Arms of St Andrews

George Martine de Claremont

Georges Martine de Claremont 1635 -1712

A vécu dans South Street Il était avocat-commissaire de St Andrews et auteur de la Première histoire de l'Archevêché :- "Reliquiae Divi Andreae"

George Martine of Claremont St Andrews

George Martine FRS 1700 - 1741

George était un médecin, chirurgien et géologue, qui a vécu plus tard au 56 South Street. Il a été le premier à faire une étude minutieuse de la chaleur et des échelles de température, et a fait la première estimation -400F, de la température du zéro absolu,  Il a fabriqué le premier thermomètre clinique à mercure utile en verre. C'est ici qu'en 1730, il a effectué la première trachéotomie en Grande-Bretagne

James David Forbes House 

South Street St Andrews

James David Forbes was born in Edinburgh 20 April 1809

at 86 George Street.

He was educated at Edinburgh University in 1825.  At 19, became a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh, and in 1832

he was elected to the

Royal Society of London.

In 1859 he was appointed successor to David Brewster as principal of the United College of St Andrews, which he held until his death in 1868. It could be said he was first to study the heating of the earth.  

James David Forbes House St Andrews
James David Forbes Plaque St Andrews

James Boswell et Samuel Johnson

C'est le site du Glass Inn 29 South Street où Boswell et le Dr Johnson ont dîné le 18 août 1773.

Nous avons eu une route morne dans une nuit sombre à St Andrews où nous sommes arrivés tard. Nous avons trouvé un bon souper au Glass's Inn.

Le Glass Inn a survécu vers 1830

Glass's Inn Boswell and Samuels Visit

Saint André

Attractions

 

Cathédrale Saint-André

Les pendules

Saint André

KY16 9QL

Écosse

 

Château de St Andrews

Les partitions

Saint André

KY16 9AR

Écosse

 

Église de la Sainte-Trinité

Lieux de Sainte-Marie

Saint André

KY16 9UY

Écosse

 

Le port ouest

rue Sud

Saint André

KY16 9EG

Écosse

 

Statue de Hamish McHamish

Allée des Loges

Saint André

KY16 9NL

Écosse

 

 

Chapelle des Blackfriars

Maison de Madras

rue Sud

Saint André

KY16 9EH

Écosse

 

Statue de l'évêque Wardlaw

Quadrilatère Sainte-Marie

Saint André

Écosse

 

Église paroissiale de Kingsbarns

Rue principale

Kingsbarns

Saint André

KY16 8SS

Écosse

 

Hôtel de ville de St Andrews

Jardins de la Reine

Saint André

KY16 9TA

Écosse  

Tombe de Tom Morris

Les pendules

Saint André

KY16 9RG

 

Tour St Règles

Saint André

KY16 9QZ

 

Musée Bell Pettigrew

Bâtiments médicaux de Bute

École de biologie

Terrasse de la Reine

Saint André

KY16 9TS

John Gillespie Sundial St Andrews

celui de James Grégoire

Ligne méridienne

rue Sud  Saint André  Ecosse James Gregory a été le premier professeur regius de mathématiques.

Il a posé un méridien en 1748. Lui et deux autres ont été les fondateurs du calcul.

Il a inventé le télescope grégorien

https://mathshistory.st-andrews.ac.uk/

Gregory's Meridian Line Plaque St Andrews
Gregory's Meridian Line St Andrews
Gregory's Meridian Line St Andrews
bottom of page