Atracciones de Selkirk
Selkirk is where Sir Walter Scott was the Sheriff for the area and presided over the court house in the town centre. There is also one of six mercat cross that were built in Scotland with platforms for proclamations.
See the three Brethren (cairns that have stood as boundary markers for over 400 years.
Walter Scott’s Court Room
Court House Museum where Sir Walter Scott, was Sheriff for over thirty years. Visit the former court room, containing displays of Walter Scott’s long associations with the area. Other displays that can be seen are of the Explorer Mungo Park 1771 – 1806. West African exploration 1796. A statue erected in his honour 1859 can be seen in the main Street of Selkirk where he was born. Also James Hogg, the Ettrick Shepherd a Scottish poet, novelist and essayist 1770-1835.
Fletcher was the only one of circa 80 men from Selkirk who returned from the Battle of Flodden Field after joining the army of King James IV (The last monarch to die in battle).
Fletcher is said to be on his return, waving a captured English standard around his head and lowering its tip to the ground, communicating to all who gathered that everyone was slain.
Selkirk Common Riding an annual event that marks the day in 1513 with the “Casting of the Colours”, when one Selkirk man returned home with an English banner
after the worst defeat of a Scottish army in history
The Fletcher Monument erected in 1913 stands in front of the Victoria Halls (built 1895).
The brass plaque reads "This monument, embodying the spirit of the Selkirk tradition and erected to commemorate the Four Hundredth anniversary of the battle of Flodden Field, was unveiled by the Earl of Rosebury, KG, KT.
Andrew Lusk Allan Provost,1913".
A trio of large stone built cairns circa 10ft (3mtrs) high, dating back over 400 years, marking the boundaries of Yair, Philiphaugh and Selkirk which come together at the top of a broad hill in the Yair Hill Forest.
Selkirk 'Silver Arrow'
Each year, the Queen’s Body Guard for Scotland,
The Royal Company of Archers, (in 1704 was granted a Royal Charter by Queen Anne)
compete for the Selkirk Silver Arrow, a competition dating back to 1660.
The Royal Archers still use the long bow. The HQ are in Edinburgh near The Meadows where they practice.
On the scrol of the tablet the words
'Arcu Ataque Animo' meaning 'Bows and Heart'
The Auld Kirk Selkirk
A Kirk Chapel or Church has been present on this site circa 6th century. The Auld Kirk in Selkirk is where William Wallace, (Braveheart), was proclaimed ‘Guardian of Scotland’ in 1298 after he defeated the English at Stirling Bridge during the Scottish Wars of Independence the previous year.
This is also the burial ground of President Roosevelt’s family.
Lochcarron of Scotland
Lochcarron of Scotland, the world’s leading manufacturer of tartan, and it is one of the last working textile mills in the Scottish Borders. Take a guided Tour with an expert guide see how we make Tartan cloth which we design and weave in our Scottish mill. After your tour shop for goods made in the mill and try some locally mad refreshments in our coffee shop.
Tour Hours are Monday – Thursday 10.30am, 11.30am, 1.30pm & 2.30pm or by appointment
(Public and local holidays excluded)
Lajos Kossuth - Hungarian Patriot
Hungarian statesman and patriot who lead the Hungarian people to independence from Austria.
Lajos Kossuth 1802 -1894
This plaque is to commemorate the enthusiastic reception and hospitality given by the people of Selkirk to the above named former Governor of Hungary, who was officially invited to lecture to an assembled audience of townspeople on the 12th December 1856, from the balcony of this hotel and in other locations in the town. Commissioned by a Hungarian originated citizen of Selkirk and his family, on the centenary of his Excellency's death.
Mungo Park "Explorer"
Mungo Park, the pioneering African Explorer, was born in 1770 in the nearby Yarrow Valley was once apprenticed to a local doctor in Selkirk and went on to marry his daughter.
A fine statue in his honour was erected in 1859.
Philiphaugh Salmon Viewing Centre
Philiphaugh Estate Office, Selkirk, Scottish Borders, TD7 5LX
Welcome to the Philiphaugh Salmon Viewing Centre. Here you can learn about the life cycle of the Salmon, and during the months of May & June or September to November when the river is high, see salmon leaping up the Cauld.
Find out what else is happening around Philiphaugh Estates: enjoy fabulous home baking at the Waterwheel Restaurant which is open 7 days per week from 10am – 4pm
There is also a walled garden and the Waterwheel Café, Glass Houses full of fruits and vegetables in summer.
The Battle of Philiphaugh
The Battle of Philiphaugh part of the Wars of the Three Kingdoms between 1639 and 1653 in the Kingdoms of England, Scotland and Ireland rued by one king, Charles I. Philiphaugh was the site of a bloody battle between the Covenanters (supporters of a Scottish Presbyterian faith) and the Royalists (supporters of the Crown)
“King Charles I” on the 13th September 1645.
The Covenanters lead by General Sir David Leslie (who signed the National Covenant of Scotland in 1638) destroyed the army of the Royalist army lead by The Marquis of Montrose (previously a Covenanter commander in 1639 changing his allegiance to fight for the King). The Covenanters were 6000 strong and the Royalists 1500 made up of foot soldiers and cavalry. The Battle was the decisive battle of the Civil War in Scotland.
Bowhill House and Grounds
Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch have a country home near Selkirk in the Scottish Borders.
Bowhill House has a section of the Buccleuch art collection.
Please see our opening times and prices here, to start planning your day
The Scott Clan received the lands of the Ettrick Forrest in 1322 from King Robert the Bruce for their loyalty to the crown.
Scott’s were ancestors to the Buccleuch family.
The First Duke of Buccleuch came about when Anna Scott married King Charles II’s son James, who was given the title Duke of Monmouth and 1st Duke of Buccleuch in 1663.
A statue of the 5th Duke stands in West Parliament Square in Edinburgh
Aikwood (Peel) Tower
previously Oakwood Tower
Aikwood has been written about since 1455 in the accounts of Scotland
and has been part of the Scott Clan since 1517.
Robert Scott and Elspeth Murray were married in Aikwood in 1602 see the marriage stone on the tower.
Sir Walter Scott has mentions of it in many of his novels.
With all old buildings the Ghosts are present, visit the haunted chamber known as the Jingler's Room.